Tag Archives: windows

On Thursday 25th November PHINZ hosted a webinar which covered the challenges faced and solutions implemented in consenting the windows for the Wunderbar Passive House project.

Darryl Sang and Alya Abed Ali from Sang Architects and Darryl August and Ian Fong from August Millard talked through the details and shared their learnings.

If you missed the webinar itself or would like to re-run it again you can find the link for the recording and the slides below. We hope you enjoy it. Watch out for more webinars hosted by PHINZ in the near future on both our website in Upcoming Events and on our Facebook page.

Share this:

The “Component Award 2019 – Windows for the future” winners were announced at the International Passive House Conference in Gaobeidian, China.

Once again, companies in Aotearoa NZ are at the forefront of innovation and punching well above our weight for a small country. The two manufacturers of Passive House certified windows in Aotearoa NZ, Thermadura and SEDA, entered the awards and both won prizes. We are very proud that both companies are members of PHINZ. Congratulations to both SEDA and Thermadura!

The “1st Prize Timber Aluminium in warm, temperate climate” was award to Swartwin Compact that is manufactured by SEDA in Auckland .

The jury praised the standard of aesthetic and innovation in combination with a high degree of thermal protection and the innovative shading solution for this insulation thickness.

Jason Quinn accepting the award from Dr. Wolfgang Feist on behalf of SEDA
Photo: Nicola Patrick

The “Special Prize Economy” was awarded to NatureLine90 Passive that is manufactured by ThermaDura in Mosgiel.

The jury outlined the high quality of craftsmanship and practicability of window installation. Compared to a traditional, poor quality New Zealand wooden window, NatureLine has lower investment costs.

Jason Quinn accepting the award from Dr. Wolfgang Feist on behalf of Thermadura
Photo: Nicola Patrick

Full details of the awarda on the Passive House Institute (Germany) website: Component Award 2019 – Windows for the future.

Share this: